Home EMYA Awards since 1977 2010 Tampere, Finland

Were you among the laureates
of the European Museum of the Year Award?
Do you have any memories and/or photos to share?
Please contact Sofya Averchenkova on

2010 Tampere, Finland

European Museum of the Year Award 2010

The conference, culminating in the presentation of the European Museum of the Year Award was held in Tampere, Finland, on 19–22 May 2010. In total, 42 new or renewed museums competed for the title of European Museum of the Year.

Germany’s Ozeaneum is the European Museum of the Year 2010

"Ozeaneum has succeeded brilliantly in interpreting its scientific data in a clear way to make it understandable to a wide range of visitors, and uses many visual images which will be long remembered. The main award goes to a museum which contributes most directly to attracting and satisfying its visitors with unique atmosphere, imaginative interpretation and presentation, creative approach to education and social responsibibity" - said Dr. Gnedovsky.

Receiving special commendations were the Museum of Natural Sciences in Brussels, the Science Gallery in Dublin, and the Jewish Historical Museum in Amsterdam.

This is the 33rd year that the European Museum Forum has run the competition, which is the premier museum award in Europe. The EMF also judged the Council of Europe's annual museum prize, which went to the Museum of Portimao in Portugal.

About the winner of the European Museum of the Year Award

Ozeaneum in Stralsund, Germany opened in July 2008. This is the fourth part of the complex belonging to the German Oceanographic Museum. The five exhibition areas are complemented by a series of aquaria, which show the extraordinary variety and diversity of life in the North Sea, the Baltic, and the North Atlantic. Among the organisations that have co-operated to create the exhibitions is Greenpeace. Ozeaneum clearly introduces a new language and continues an already visible trend: aquaria are coming closer to museums every day and vice versa. In making its decision, the EMF judges recognised that Ozeaneum represents a new step, combining aquaria and zoos on the one hand with modern scientific museums on the other. www.ozeaneum.de

The Kenneth Hudson Award

This is a new award in honour of the internationally reknowned museologist and journalist, founder of the European Museum Forum. The first Kenneth Hudson Award went to the Museum of Contraception and Abortion in Vienna, Austria. It was felt that the achievement of this museum contributed significantly to the development of the public quality of museums.

Specially commended for museum innovation were:
Museum of Natural Sciences, Brussels, Belgium
The Science Gallery, Dublin, Ireland
Jewish Historical Museum, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

These three museums received a special diploma recognising their excellence in conception, innovative approach to interpretation and attention to the needs of their visitors.

The Council of Europe Prize went to the Museum of Portimao, in Portimao, Portugal.

The Micheletti Award

The Micheletti Award for the most promising technical or industrial museum, this year went to the Agbar Water Museum, Cornellà de Llobregat, Spain.