Home EMYA Awards since 1977 1977 Strasbourg, France

Were you among the laureates
of the European Museum of the Year Award?
Do you have any memories and/or photos to share?
Please contact Sofya Averchenkova on

1977 Strasbourg, France

European Museum of the Year Award 1977 

Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust, Ironbridge, UK

Specially commended

FN Museum of Industrial Archaeology, Herstal, Belgium

Technical Museum, Helsinki, Finland

Terra Amata Museum, Nice, France

Municipal Museum, Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany

Historical Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Preus Foto Museum, Horten, Norway

International Museum of Clocks and Watches, La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland

Council of Europe Award

Joan Miró Foundation, Barcelona, Spain

Award ceremony was held in Strasbourg, France, at the Château des Rohan

Guest of Honour: Roy Jenkins, President of the Commission of the European Communities