Home EMYA Awards since 1977 2014 Tallinn, Estonia

Were you among the laureates
of the European Museum of the Year Award?
Do you have any memories and/or photos to share?
Please contact Sofya Averchenkova on

2014 Tallinn, Estonia

The Annual Assembly of the European Museum Forum and European Museum of the Year Award 2014 Ceremony take place from 14-17 May 2014 at the Kumu Art Museum in Tallinn, Estonia.

We are proud to be celebrating International Museum Day as part of the annual EMF assembly and EMYA Ceremony.



Museum of Innocence: Turkish Museum is European Museum of the Year 2014

The 2014 European Museum of the Year Award was awarded to the Museum of Innonce in Turkey. The European Museum Forum presented three further award and five special commendations to museums demosntrating excellence and innovation in delivering public quality.

View images from the EMYA 2013 events

The results of the 2014 awards are as follows :

Main Award
The European Museum of the Year Award 2014 goes to the Museum of Innocence, Istanbul, Turkey.
The Museum of Innocence can be seen simply as a historical museum of Istanbul life in the second half of 20th century. It is also, however, a museum created by writer Orhan Pamuk as an integral, object-based version of the fictional love story of his novel of the same name. The Museum of Innocence is meant as a small and personal, local and sustainable model for new museum development. The Museum of Innocence inspires and establishes innovative, new paradigms for the museum sector.

This museum fulfils to the highest degree the notion of “public quality”, from the point of view both of heritage and of the public.

The museum has received a trophy: The Egg by Henry Moore, which it will keep for one year.

Special Commendations
The following museums have received Special Commendations from the EMYA 2014 Judging Panel:

Lennusadam, Estonian Maritime Museum, Tallinn, Estonia

For the impressive maritime atmosphere with spectacular, theatrical exhibition design beautifully integrated into the building and for the evident central position of the visitor at the heart of the online experience which allows them to download information whilst walking through the exhibition.

Bildmuseet, Umeå, Sweden

For creating a modern and innovative museum offering dynamic exhibition continuity and a permanent platform for the promotion of European and global cultural knowledge and multi-layered intercultural dialogue.

Museo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología, A Coruña, Spain

For its ability to communicate scientific and technical concepts in an inspiring way and for its strong commitment to social responsibility in preserving the technical, industrial and scientific heritage of Spain and Galicia.

Museo Occidens / Catedral de Pamplona, Spain

For the outstanding way in which it presents the values that underpin the civilization of the “West” and challenges us to rethink our collective future, and our concepts of democracy, solidarity, justice, peace and freedom.

Kazerne Dossin – Memorial, Museum and Documentation Centre on Holocaust and Human Rights, Mechelen, Belgium,

Flossenbürg Concentration Camp Memorial, Germany

A joint special commendation goes to these two museums for their courage in opening up their institutions to the future, and seeking new “ownership” relationships, within the context of the Second World War. Both these museum memorials – by way of their ideas – have the potential to influence, professionally, their genre of museums.

Other Prizes
The Kenneth Hudson Award 2014 goes to Žanis Lipke Memorial, Riga, Latvia.

This new museum, inaugurated in 2013 by two heads of state, commemorates a human rescue operation devised by Zanis Lipke, a Latvian dockworker and smuggler, who succeeded in saving the lives of over 50 Jews from the Riga Ghetto during the Second World War. The captivating story, brilliant new building and innovative presentation make the visitors’ experience exceptionally rich and deep.

The award, named after the founder of the European Museum Forum, goes to the most unusual, daring and sometimes controversial achievement that challenges common perceptions of the role of museums in society.

The Silletto Prize 2014 goes to the Saurer Museum, Arbon, Switzerland.

The award goes to a museum for work with the local community and involvement of volunteers.

The Silletto Prize, which is awarded to a museum for its work with the local community and the involvement of volunteers, has been won this year by the Saurer Museum.  The Saurer truck company was a major employer in Arbon until its closure in 1987.  Over 6,000 people lost their jobs, an immense blow to the pride, economy and morale of the community. The Saurer Oldtimers Club began to collect and restore Saurer vehicles, and has created a museum with high professional standards entirely through voluntary effort.

The Council of Europe Museum Prize 2014 goes to the Baksi Museum, Bayburt, Turkey.

Embedded in the natural beauty of the Anatolian landscape, the Baksi Museum brings the rural into dialogue with the urban, traditional culture into contact with contemporary lifestyles and brings together traditional crafts with contemporary art.

The prize was given by the Assembly of the Council of Europe at a special ceremony held in Strasbourg on 8 April 2014.

The museum has received a trophy: La femme aux beaux seins by Joan Miró, which it will keep for one year.