Home EMYA EMYA 2016 Judging Panel
Judging Panel PDF Print E-mail

José Gameiro, Portugal (Chair)

Director of the Museum of Portimão, in Portugal, (winner of the “Council of Europe Museum Prize 2010");
Master in "Management and Administration of Cultural Heritage”, by the University of the Algarve; degree in “Visual Arts", by the Fine Arts School, University of Lisbon;
Adviser of the "Portuguese Museum Network" and the "Museum, Conservation and Heritage Committee" of the Portuguese Culture Council;
Board Member of the ICOM Portugal (2014-2017) and of the "Algarve Museums Network";
Consultant and teacher in museology and industrial heritage.

Wim De Vos, Belgium

Advisor to Belgian Federal Minister in charge of the federal scientific institutions.
From 2013 elected member of ICOM Executive Council; 
Chairman of the Flemish Museums Association; 
Chairman of ICOM Belgium; 
Member of the advisory board of The Best in Heritage (Dubrovnik); 
Member of ICOM’s Strategic Plan Evaluation Committee (2010–2011); From 2004 to 2009 Communication Manager of the Royal Belgian Institute and the Museum of Natural Sciences.

Shirley Collier

Shirley Collier, UK

Museum Consultant;
April 2007 - October 2012 Chief Executive, Scarborough Museums Trust, UK;
EMF National Correspondent since 2010;
Member of the Museums Association;
Chair UK Registrars Group 2003-2005;
Museums Libraries and Archives Museum Accreditation Committee;
Previously, Deputy Director of Collections, Imperial War Museum.

Laurella Rinçon, France

State Curator, specialised in African art, Carribean cultures, Intangible heritage and inclusive museology.
2011-2014 Ministry of culture and communication, Paris;
2007-2010 Curator consultant on exhibitions for Quai Branly Museum (Dogon (2010), Masks, beauty of the spirits (2008 - Bahrein museum), Bénin (2007);
2008-2010 Museum for Europe and the Mediterranean (MUCEM), Paris site;
2007-2008 National Institute of Cultural Heritage (INP), Paris;
2005-2007 Ecole Normale Supérieure Lettres et Sciences humaines (ENS-LSH), Lyon;
2002-2004 Museum of World Cultures, Sweden.

Jan Gerchow, Germany

Historian, director of the Historical Museum Frankfurt (Historisches Museum Frankfurt am Main, Germany), since 2005, involved in planning a new building and new exhibition concept. 
Member of the Frankfurt Historical Commission. 
1993-2005 curator at the Ruhrlandmuseum Essen; previously Research Fellow at the Max-Planck-Institute for History in Göttingen and Assistant Professor at the History Department, University of Freiburg im Breisgau.

Sirje Helme, Estonia

Director General, Art Museum of Estonia, including Kumu, winner of EMYA 2008;
2005-2009 Director of Kumu Art Museum;
1992–2005 Director of the Centre for Contemporary Art, Estonia;
1999–2005 Commissioner of the Venice Biennale;
Since 1974 she has been working as Editor and later as Editor-in-Chief of the Estonian art magazine Kunst;
Currently lecturer at the University of Tartu and Art Academy of Estonia.

Željka Kolveshi, Croatia

Museum Advisor and Deputy Director, Zagreb City Museum;
Head of Collections of Painting, Graphics and Applied Graphics;
Member of the Croatian Museum Association;
Member of ICOM Croatia 1994 to present and Vice-Chairperson 1996–2002;
Member of International Committee for Museums and Collections of Archaeology and History (ICMAH ICOM) 1994 to present, and Vice-Chairperson 2001–2004.

Jouetta van der Ploeg

Jouetta van der Ploeg, The Netherlands

Director, Stadsmuseum Zoetermeer;
Board Member of the Dutch Museum Association;
Member of the Editorial Council National Museum Congress, Dutch Museum Association;
European Museum Forum National Correspondent;
Author and co-author of numerous publications.

Michael Ryan, Republic of Ireland

Archaeologist and Writer.
Chair of ICOM Ireland; 1992-2010 Director of Chester Beatty Library, Dublin, winner of EMYA 2002; Recently appointed Officer in the Order of Arts and Letters by the Government of France;
Honorary Professor in art history in Trinity College, Dublin;
Former President of the Royal Irish Academy;
Chairman of the Discovery Programme;
Former Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors and Guardians of the National Gallery of Ireland;
Past Chair of the Irish Association of Professional Archaeologists;
1990 awarded the Medal of the Society of Antiquities London.

Jette Sandahl, Denmark

Director of the Museum of Copenhagen, Denmark;
2006-2008 Director Experience, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand; 
2001-2006 Founding Director Museum of World Cultures, Sweden;
1995-2001 Director Exhibitions and Public Programs, National Museum of Denmark;
1984-1995 Project Manager and Director, the Women's Museum of Denmark.

Jahangir Selimkhanov, Azerbaijan

Head of the multilateral international cultural co-operation section at the  Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Republic of Azerbaijan;
Project Coordinator in Azerbaijan, Pilot Project on the Rehabilitation of Cultural Heritage in Historic Towns, Council of Europe/ European Commission;
Advisory Board member, Cultural Policy Research Centre, Bilgi University, Istanbul, Turkey;
Member, European Cultural Parliament;
1998-2010 Arts & Culture Programme Director, Open Society Institute Assistance Foundation Azerbaijan.